The Research Ethics Committee, Faculty Health Sciences, University of Pretoria complies with ICH-GCP guidelines and has US Federal wide Assurance.

- *** FWA** 00002567, Approved dd 22 May 2002 and Expires 20 Oct 2016.
- *** IRB** 0000 2235 IORG0001762 Approved dd 13/04/2011 and Expires 13/04/2014.



Universiteit van Pretoria University of Pretoria

Faculty of Health Sciences Research Ethics Committee Fakulteit Gesondheidswetenskappe Navorsingsetiekkomitee

DATE: 30/01/2013

NUMBER	5/2013
TITLE OF THE PROTOCOL	Progressive HIV infection in the presence of a raised CD4 count: A case
	report of HIV/ HTLV-1 co-infection
PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR	Student Name & Surname: Ahmad Haeri Mazanderani
	Dept: Department of Medical Virology; University of Pretoria & NHLS,
	Tshwane Academic Division
	Cell: 0826428609 E-Mail: ahmad.haerimazanderani@up.ac.za
SUB INVESTIGATOR/S	Osman Ebrahim E-Mail: osman.ebrahim@telkomsa.net
STUDY COORDINATOR	Not Applicable
SUPERVISOR	Not Applicable
STUDY DEGREE	MMed
SPONSOR COMPANY	Not applicable
CONTACT DEATAILS OF SPONSOR	Not Applicable
SPONSORS POSTAL ADDRESS	Not applicable
MEETING DATE	30/01/2013

The Protocol was approved on 30/01/2013 by a properly constituted meeting of the Ethics Committee subject to the following conditions:

- 1. The approval is valid for 2 years period [till the end of December 2014], and
- 2. The approval is conditional on the receipt of 6 monthly written Progress Reports, and
- 3. The approval is conditional on the research being conducted as stipulated by the details of the documents submitted to and approved by the Committee. In the event that a need arises to change who the investigators are, the methods or any other aspect, such changes must be submitted as an Amendment for approval by the Committee.

Members of the Research Ethics Committee:

Prof RSK Apatu	MBChB (Legon, UG); PhD (Cantab); PGDip International Research Ethics (UCT)
Prof M J Bester	(female)BSc (Chemistry and Biochemistry); BSc (Hons)(Biochemistry); MSc(Biochemistry); PhD (Medical Biochemistry)
Mrs N Briers	(female) BSc (Stell); BSc Hons (Pretoria); MSc (Pretoria); DHETP (Pretoria)
Dr IK Dada	BSc.HB; MB ChB (UNZA); MA Appl. Pop. Research (EXON); MPH (UP)
Prof R Delport	(female)BA et Scien, B Curationis (Hons) (Intensive care Nursing), M Sc (Physiology), PhD (Medicine), M Ed Computer Assisted Education
Prof MM Ehlers	(female) BSc (Agric) Microbiology (Pret); BSc (Agric) Hons Microbiology (Pret); MSc (Agric) Microbiology (Pret); PhD Microbiology (Pret); Post Doctoral Fellow (Pret)
Dr R Leech	(female) B.Art et Scien; BA Cur; BA (Hons); M (ECI); PhD Nursing Science
Mr SB Masombuka	BA (Communication Science) UNISA; Certificate in Health Research Ethics Course (B compliant cc)
Dr MP Mathebula	(female)Deputy CEO: Steve Biko Academic Hospital; MBCHB, PDM, HM
Prof A Nienaber	(female) BA(Hons)(Wits); LLB; LLM; LLD(UP); PhD; Dipl.Datametrics(UNISA) - Legal advisor
Mrs MC Nzeku	(female) BSc(NUL); MSc(Biochem)(UCL, UK) - Community representative

Prof L M Ntlhe MbChB (Natal) FCS (SA)

Dr SAS Olorunju BSc (Hons). Stats (Ahmadu Bello University –Nigeria); MSc (Applied Statistics (UKC United

Kingdom); PhD (Ahmadu Bello University - Nigeria)

Snr Sr J Phatoli (female) BCur(Eet.A); BTec(Oncology Nursing Science) – Nursing representative

Dr R Reynders MBChB (Prêt), FCPaed (CMSA) MRCPCH (Lon) Cert Med. Onc (CMSA)

Dr T Rossouw (female) MBChB (cum laude); M.Phil (Applied Ethics) (cum laude), MPH (Biostatistics and Epidemiology

(cum laude), D.Phil

Dr L Schoeman (female) B.Pharm, BA(Hons)(Psych), PhD – Deputy Chairperson Mr Y Sikweyiya MPH; SARETI Fellowship in Research Ethics; SARETI ERCTP;

BSc(Health Promotion)Postgraduate Dip (Health Promotion) - Community representative

Dr R Sommers (female) MBChB; MMed(Int); MPharmMed – Deputy Chairperson

Dr GP Stevens LLB, LLM, LLD.

Prof L Sykes (female) BSc, BDS, MDent (Pros)

Prof TJP Swart BChD, MSc (Odont), MChD (Oral Path), PGCHE – School of Dentistry representative

Prof C W van Staden MBChB; MMed (Psych); MD; FCPsych; FTCL; UPLM - Chairperson

Domines

DR R SOMMERS; MBChB; MMed(Int); MPharmMed.

Deputy Chairperson of the Faculty of Health Sciences Research Ethics Committee, University of Pretoria

♦ Web: //www.healthethics-up.co.za ♦ H W Snyman Bld (South) Level 2-34 ♦ Private Bag x 323, Arcadia, Pta, S.A., 0007